Referendum on the UK's Membership of the European Union — Dates — 29 Feb 2016 at 18:30

The majority of MPs voted to set the date of the referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union as the 23rd of June 2016, and to set other dates relevant to the regulation of the referendum.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

The regulations set the date of the referendum on if the United Kingdom should remain a member of the European Union as 23rd June 2016. (The European Union Referendum Act 2015 required the referendum be held before 31 December 2017).

The regulations also set[1]:

  • the start date of the "referendum period" as the 15th of April 2016. This is generally the date from which spending is regulated, with some exceptions. The regulations also set the dates for reporting periods, and dates for reporting donations, loans and similar to permitted participants.
  • the date of the start of the referendum period, relevant for calculating the application deadline for to become a designated organisation to which public funding is available, as the 4th of March 2016. Under section 109 of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 applications have to be made within 28 days of that date.[2]


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con283 (+2 tell) 0086.4%
DUP0 1012.5%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab181 2481.0%
LDem6 0075.0%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 47 (+2 tell)090.7%
UKIP1 00100.0%
UUP0 1050.0%
Total:471 55483.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)no
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)both
Kate HollernBlackburnLab (minister)both
Rachael MaskellYork CentralLab (minister)both
Marie RimmerSt Helens South and WhistonLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive