Policing and Crime Bill — New Clause 2 — National Assembly for Wales: Devolution of Responsibility for Policing — 13 Jun 2016 at 20:45

The majority of MPs voted against giving the National Assembly for Wales powers over policing, police pay, probation, community safety, crime prevention. The National Crime Agency, police pensions and national security were to be exempted from the rejected proposal.

MPs were considering the Policing and Crime Bill.[1]

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: National Assembly for Wales: devolution of responsibility for policing and stated:

  • “(1) In Schedule 7 to the Government of Wales Act 2006 after paragraph 20 insert—
  • Policing
  • 21 Policing, police pay, probation, community safety, crime prevention.
  • Exceptions—
  • National Crime Agency
  • Police pensions
  • National security


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con258 (+2 tell) 0078.8%
DUP3 0037.5%
Independent1 0033.3%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem0 5062.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 0 (+2 tell)03.7%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:262 12043.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive