Finance Bill — Clause 10 — Company Car Tax — Diesel Cars With Low Carbon Dioxide Emissions Rates — 27 Jun 2016 at 19:15

The majority of MPs voted for higher taxes on diesel company cars with low carbon dioxide emissions rates.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill.[1]

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 2, page 15, line 29, after “omit”, insert
  • “, except in the case of a low emissions vehicle,”.

Had it not been rejected this would have impacted Clause 10[2] of the Bill which began:

Had the amendment not been rejected it appears the highly unusual situation of having two versions of the Finance Act 2014: one applying to low emissions vehicles, and one applying to other vehicles, would have occurred.

Section 24 of the Finance Act 2014 provided for amendments to the calculation of the taxable benefit for a company car which depended on the car's rate of carbon dioxide emissions and if it is diesel powered or not. Clause 10 of the Bill provided for the retention of a 3% supplement on diesel cars. The amendment sought to reduce the tax on low emissions diesel company cars by removing the supplement for such vehicles.

During the debate leading up to the vote Rob Marris MP explained the intend of the rejected amendment as being[3]:

  • if a vehicle with a diesel engine meets the same Euro 6 standard as a petrol engine, the same tax regime should apply to it.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con308 (+2 tell) 0093.9%
DUP4 1062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 20100.0%
Lab0 189 (+2 tell)082.7%
LDem0 6075.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 46085.2%
UUP0 1050.0%
Total:313 251088.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive