Neighbourhood Planning Bill — Clause 12 — Power for Secretary of State to Ban Certain Types of Planning Conditions in England — 13 Dec 2016 at 19:52

The majority of MPs voted to give a Secretary of State the power to ban certain types of planning condition in England.

MPs were considering the Neighbourhood Planning Bill[1]

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 14, page 11, line 1, leave out clause 12.

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory statement:

  • This amendment would remove from the Bill completely the changes to planning conditions.

Clause 12 of the Bill[2] was titled: Restrictions on power to impose planning conditions and provided for the insertion of a new clause into the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 empowering a Secretary of State to ban certain types of planning condition as well as to require the applicant's written agreement to conditions which must be complied with before any building, other operation, or change of use begins.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con271 (+2 tell) 0083.0%
DUP6 1087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 152 (+2 tell)066.4%
LDem0 1011.1%
SDLP0 2066.7%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:279 157075.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive