Technical and Further Education Bill — Report — 27 Mar 2017 at 15:45

Moved by Lord Watson of Invergowrie

1: After Clause 1, insert the following new Clause-“Financial support for students undertaking apprenticeships(1) The Secretary of State must by regulations made by statutory instrument make provision for-(a) making a person undertaking a statutory apprenticeship, as defined under section A11 of the Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Act 2009, a qualifying young person for the purposes of child benefit; and(b) extending the Higher Education Bursary provided for by section 23C(5A) of the Children Act 1989 to a person who is a former relevant child undertaking a statutory apprenticeship, as defined under section A11 of the Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Act 2009.(2) Statutory instruments under subsection (1) are subject to the affirmative resolution procedure.”

Ayes 244, Noes 190.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop0 13.8%
Con0 163 (+2 tell)63.7%
Crossbench32 1928.7%
DUP0 250.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Judge0 17.1%
Lab127 (+2 tell) 061.1%
LDem75 073.5%
Non-affiliated6 120.0%
PC1 0100.0%
UKIP0 133.3%
Total:242 18852.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dykes Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Jones of BirminghamCrossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Macpherson of Earl's CourtCrossbenchno
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Slim Crossbenchno
The Duke of SomersetCrossbenchno
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive