Technical and Further Education Bill — New Clause — Payments Related to Students Undertaking Apprenticeships — 19 Apr 2017 at 15:30

The majority of MPs voted against paying child benefit in respect of those undertaking a statutory apprenticeship in England and Wales and against requiring local councils in England and Wales to make payments to those who were in their care who go on to undertake a statutory apprenticeship.

MPs were considering the Technical and Further Education Bill[1]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 1[2].

The rejected Lords amendment 1 proposed a new clause titled Financial support for students undertaking apprenticeships stating:

Currently the Higher Education Bursary is at least £2000 (in total, not per year) in England and Wales[3][4].


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con297 (+2 tell) 1090.9%
DUP1 3050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 167 (+2 tell)073.5%
LDem0 5055.6%
SDLP0 30100.0%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:298 182083.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Trudy HarrisonCopelandConno
Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive