Armed Forces (Flexible Working) Bill — Clause 1 — Part Time Service in the Armed Forces and Breaks from Full-Time Service — 11 Oct 2017 at 17:00

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted in favour of allowing members of the armed forces to serve part time and against allowing a member of the regular armed services to take breaks from full-time service.

The House of Lords was considering the Armed Forces (Flexible Working) Bill [1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Clause 1, page 1, leave out lines 6 and 7 and insert—“(ha) enabling a person serving with a regular force to take breaks from full-time service subject to prescribed conditions

At the time of the vote Clause 1 began:

Lines 6-7 refer to subclause (3)(a)


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 28.3%
Con163 (+2 tell) 264.7%
Crossbench7 41 (+2 tell)28.6%
DUP3 075.0%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist1 0100.0%
Judge1 328.6%
Lab0 42.0%
LDem0 00.0%
Non-affiliated4 115.2%
Total:179 5429.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Glenarthur Con (front bench)aye
Lord Robathan Conaye
Lord Adebowale Crossbenchno
Lord Burns Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Crisp Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Hameed Crossbenchno
Lord Janvrin Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Hope of CraigheadJudge (front bench)no
Lord Bhatia Non-affiliatedaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive