Business of the House — Proceedure for Consideration of the UK's Withdrawal From the EU — 1 Apr 2019 at 16:35

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a proposed procedure for the House of Commons to, on the 1st and 3rd of April, consider motions relating to the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from, and future relationship with, the European Union.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs empowered the Speaker to determine the voting arrangements to be used, and permitted questions which had already been put to MPs in the current session to be put again. These procedures were in-line with those agreed and used on the 27th of March 2019.[1]

The usual precedence for Government motions, provided for in the House of Commons standing orders, was set aside.

The procedure approved in this vote enabled a large number of motions, from MPs from across the House of Commons, to be efficiently considered and voted on.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • (1) That, at today’s sitting –
  • (a) any proceedings governed by the order of the House of 27 March (Business of the House) or this order may be proceeded with until any hour, though opposed, and shall not be interrupted;
  • (b) the order of 27 March shall apply as if, at the end of paragraph 2(b), there were inserted “and then to motions in the name of a Minister of the Crown relating to statutory instruments”;
  • (c) notwithstanding the practice of the House, any motion on matters that have been the subject of a prior decision of the House in the current Session may be the subject of a decision;
  • (d) the Speaker shall announce his decision on which motions have been selected for decision by recorded vote before calling a Member to move a motion under paragraph 2(f) of the order of 27 March;
  • (e) the Speaker may not propose the question on any amendment to any motion subject to decision by recorded vote or on the previous question, and may not put any question under Standing Order No. 36 (Closure of debate) or Standing Order No. 163 (Motion to sit in private);
  • (f) debate on the motions having precedence under paragraph 2(f) of the order of 27 March may continue until 8.00 pm at which time the House shall proceed as if the question had been put on each motion selected by the Speaker for decision by recorded vote and the opinion of the Speaker as to the decision on each such question had been challenged;
  • (g) in respect of those questions –
  • (i) Members may record their votes on each question under arrangements made by the Speaker;
  • (ii) votes may be recorded for half an hour after the Speaker declares the period open and the Speaker shall suspend the House for that period;
  • (iii) the Speaker shall announce the results in the course of the sitting;
  • (h) during the period between 8.00 pm and the announcement of the results on the questions subject to recorded vote –
  • (i) no motion for the adjournment may be made;
  • (ii) the Speaker may suspend the sitting if any other business, including proceedings provided for in paragraph 1(b) of this order and paragraph 2(g) of the order of 27 March, has been concluded.
  • (2) That, on Wednesday 3 April –
  • (a) notwithstanding Standing Order No. 14(1) (which provides that Government business shall have precedence at every sitting save as provided in that order), precedence shall first be given to a motion relating to the Business of the House in connection with the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union
  • (b) if more than one motion relating to the Business of the House is tabled, the Speaker shall decide which motion shall have such precedence;
  • (c) the Speaker shall interrupt proceedings on any business having precedence before the Business of the House motion at 2.00 pm and call a Member to move that motion;
  • (d) debate on that motion may continue until 5.00 pm at which time the Speaker shall put the questions necessary to dispose of proceedings on that motion including the questions on amendments selected by the Speaker which may then be moved;
  • (e) any proceedings interrupted or superseded by this order may be resumed or (as the case may be) entered upon and proceeded with after the moment of interruption.
  • [1] House of Commons, Official Record, 27 March 2019

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con28 264 (+2 tell)093.9%
DUP0 7070.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent13 2071.4%
Lab233 (+2 tell) 4097.6%
LDem11 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP31 0088.6%
Total:321 277094.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Conaye
Damian GreenAshfordConaye
Lord John [Missing last name for 41744]BassetlawLabno
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Conaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conaye
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstConaye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Paul MastertonEast RenfrewshireConaye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Conaye
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Conaye
Damian CollinsFolkestone and HytheConaye
Nicholas BolesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Conaye
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConaye
Nicky MorganLoughboroughConaye
Caroline SpelmanMeridenConaye
George FreemanMid NorfolkConaye
Nicholas SoamesMid Sussexwhilst Conaye
Richard BenyonNewburywhilst Conaye
Alistair BurtNorth East Bedfordshirewhilst Conaye
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonConaye
Stephen CrabbPreseli PembrokeshireConaye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Conaye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConaye
Gareth SnellStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConaye
Sarah NewtonTruro and FalmouthConaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Conaye
Richard HarringtonWatfordwhilst Conaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Steve BrineWinchesterwhilst Conaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive