European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 5) Bill — Clause 1 — Consideration by MPs of Any Withdrawal Delay Proposed by the European Council — 3 Apr 2019 at 21:45

The majority of MPs voted for MPs in the House of Commons to consider any delay to the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union in-light of a new withdrawal date being proposed by the European Council.

The European Council is made up of the heads of state or government of the 28 EU member states, the European Council President and the President of the European Commission.[1]

MPs were considering the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 5) Bill[2].

The amendment rejected by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment 21, page 1, line 21, leave out subsections (6) and (7)

Subsections (6) and (7) stated:

  • (6) Subsection (7) applies if the European Council proposes an extension of the period specified in Article 50(3) of the Treaty on European Union to a period ending other than on the date proposed in the resolution arising from the motion in the form set out in subsection (2) for the purposes of subsection (1).
  • (7) If the condition in subsection (6) is met, on the day after the European Council makes the proposal referred to in subsection (6), the Prime Minister must move a motion in the House of Commons in the form set out in subsection (2).

Subsection (2), the main operative clause of the Bill, required a motion to be put before the House of Commons in the form:

The date to which the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union would be delayed was not given in the Bill but would, under subsection 1(3) of the Bill, be added to the motion prior to it being moved and could be amended during debate.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con15 287 (+2 tell)097.1%
DUP0 100100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent19 30100.0%
Lab228 (+2 tell) 4095.5%
LDem11 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP35 00100.0%
Total:313 304096.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)no
Steve BrineWinchesterwhilst Conno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)no
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)no
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conno
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)no
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Con (front bench)no
Richard HarringtonWatfordwhilst Conno
Phillip LeeBracknellwhilst Conno
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conno
Paul MastertonEast RenfrewshireCon (front bench)no
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Con (front bench)no
Caroline SpelmanMeridenCon (front bench)no
Thomas TugendhatTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)no
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Con (front bench)no
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Stephen HepburnJarrowLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive