Business of the House — Consideration of the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 6) Bill — Requiring Prime Minister to Seek Delay To Withdrawal — 3 Sep 2019 at 21:47

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a proposed procedure to enable the House of Commons to pass a bill[1] requiring the Prime Minister to seek a delay to the United Kingdom leaving the European Union until 31 January 2020 unless MPs have approved either terms of a withdrawal agreement, or withdrawal without an agreement.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote began:

  • That this House has considered the matter of the need to take all necessary steps to ensure that the United Kingdom does not leave the European Union on 31 October 2019 without a withdrawal agreement and accordingly makes provision as set out in this order:
  • (1) On Wednesday 4 September 2019
  • (a) Standing Order No. 14(1) (which provides that government business shall have precedence at every sitting save as provided in that order) shall not apply;
  • (b) any proceedings governed by this order may be proceeded with until any hour, though opposed, and shall not be interrupted;
  • (c) the Speaker may not propose the question on the previous question, and may not put any question under Standing Order No. 36 (Closure of debate) or Standing Order No. 163 (Motion to sit in private);
  • (d) at 3.00 pm, the Speaker shall interrupt any business prior to the business governed by this order and call a Member to present the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 6) Bill of which notice of presentation has been given and immediately thereafter (notwithstanding the practice of the House) call a Member to move the motion that the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 6) Bill be now read a second time as if it were an order of the House;

The motion went on to make further provisions relating to the consideration of the Bill, including a timetable for proceedings.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 286 (+2 tell)099.7%
DUP0 100100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent13 3080.0%
Lab240 (+1 tell) 2098.4%
LDem15 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP34 (+1 tell) 00100.0%
Total:307 301098.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Richard BenyonNewburywhilst Conaye
Steve BrineWinchesterwhilst Conaye
Alistair BurtNorth East Bedfordshirewhilst Conaye
Greg ClarkTunbridge Wellswhilst Conaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
David GaukeSouth West Hertfordshirewhilst Conaye
Justine GreeningPutneywhilst Conaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast Surreywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Philip HammondRunnymede and Weybridgewhilst Conaye
Stephen HammondWimbledonwhilst Conaye
Richard HarringtonWatfordwhilst Conaye
Margot JamesStourbridgewhilst Conaye
Oliver LetwinWest Dorsetwhilst Conaye
Anne MiltonGuildfordwhilst Conaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton Northwhilst Conaye
Antoinette SandbachEddisburywhilst Con (front bench)aye
Nicholas SoamesMid Sussexwhilst Conaye
Rory StewartPenrith and The Borderwhilst Conaye
Ed VaizeyWantagewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Lord John [Missing last name for 41744]BassetlawLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive