Proceedings during the Pandemic — 2 Jun 2020 at 15:36

A majority of MPs voted to end the procedure enabling MPs to vote remotely, online, which had been introduced due to the covid-19 pandemic and to require members to be physically present on the Parliamentary estate to vote.

A majority of MPs supported the following motion[1] in this vote:

  • That the resolution of the House of 21 April (Proceedings during the pandemic) be rescinded and the following orders be made and have effect until 7 July 2020:
  • (1) That the following order have effect in place of Standing Order No. 38 (Procedure on divisions):
  • (a) If the opinion of the Speaker or the chair as to the decision on a question is challenged, the Speaker or the chair shall declare that a division shall be held.
  • (b) Divisions shall be conducted under arrangements made by the Speaker provided that:
  • (i) Members may only participate physically within the Parliamentary estate; and
  • (ii) the arrangements adhere to the guidance issued by Public Health England.
  • (2) Standing Order No. 40 (Division unnecessarily claimed) shall not apply.
  • (3) In Standing Order No. 41A (Deferred divisions):
  • (a) At the end of paragraph (5)(a), insert “, provided that (i) Members may only participate physically within the Parliamentary estate; and (ii) the arrangements adhere to the guidance issued by Public Health England”.
  • (b) In paragraph (5)(b) delete “two and a half hours” and insert “at least two and a half hours”.
  • (c) In paragraph (5)(c) delete “after the expiry of the period mentioned in subparagraph (b) above”.
  • (4) The Speaker or chair may limit the number of Members present in the Chamber at any one time and Standing Orders Nos. 7 (Seats not to be taken before prayers) and 8 (Seats secured at prayers) shall not apply.
  • (5) Standing Orders Nos. 83J to 83X (Certification according to territorial application etc) shall not apply.

This vote was held under a process whereby Members state their names and say “Aye” or “No” at the relevant Dispatch Box was used for the first time in this division due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Some MPs may not have felt taking part in this vote was safe. See a mySociety blog post on "Parliamentary votes during COVID-19" showing which MPs could vote using which method at different times during the pandemic.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con257 (+2 tell) 11074.0%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 131 (+2 tell)065.8%
LDem0 9081.8%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 8016.7%
Total:257 164066.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Harriett BaldwinWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
Crispin BluntReigateConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Steve BrineWinchesterCon (front bench)no
Mark GarnierWyre ForestCon (front bench)no
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)no
Jack LoprestiFilton and Bradley StokeConno
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
Daniel PoulterCentral Suffolk and North IpswichCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive