Fisheries Bill [HL] — Report (2nd Day) — Amendment 22 — 24 Jun 2020 at 15:00

Moved by Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

22: After Clause 17, insert the following new Clause-“National landing requirement(1) Within 18 months of the day on which this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must make regulations establishing a national landing requirement which automatically applies to any boat licensed under section 14(1) or 16(1), unless exempted under subsection (4)(b).(2) Before making regulations under subsection (1), the Secretary of State must consult-(a) other relevant UK Ministers,(b) the Scottish Ministers,(c) the Welsh Ministers,(d) the Northern Ireland department, and(e) bodies that appear to the Secretary of State to represent the interests of the UK fishing industry.(3) A consultation under subsection (2) must seek views on setting an average landing requirement across all relevant species that is not less than 65 per cent.(4) An appropriate authority may-(a) determine its own exceptions and exemptions relating to the landing requirement, and(b) exempt any boat licensed to operate within British fishery limits under section 14(1) or 16(1) from the landing requirement after it has come into force.(5) Regulations under subsection (1) are subject to the affirmative resolution procedure.(6) In this section-“appropriate authority” means the relevant person under section 15(1);“landing requirement” means the percentage of a boat’s catch that was caught within British fishery limits in any given quarter which must be landed at a port in the United Kingdom, Isle of Man, Guernsey or Jersey;“relevant species” means any species present in a UK fishing zone which is subject to a UK catch quota.”Member’s explanatory statementThis new Clause requires the Secretary of State to consult on and establish a ‘national landing requirement’ to ensure a minimum percentage of fish caught by both domestic and foreign fishing vessels in UK waters are then landed at a port in the UK, Isle of Man, Guernsey or Jersey.

Ayes 281, Noes 263.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con0 21185.4%
Crossbench46 3748.5%
DUP0 4100.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 1100.0%
Judge1 114.3%
Lab131 072.8%
LDem83 091.2%
Non-affiliated14 840.0%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP1 1100.0%
Total:281 26368.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Anderson of IpswichCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchno
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Carlile of BerriewCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Baroness Cavendish of Little VeniceCrossbenchno
Lord Chartres Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Cox Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of DevonCrossbenchno
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Grabiner Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Hogg Crossbenchno
Lord Houghton of RichmondCrossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Macpherson of Earl's CourtCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Lord Mountevans Crossbenchno
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Baroness O'Loan Crossbenchno
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchno
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Russell of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Vaux of HarrowdenCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Walker of AldringhamCrossbenchno
Baroness Falkner of MargravineNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Lord Holmes of RichmondNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Inglewood Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Pearson of RannochNon-affiliatedno
Lord Prior of BramptonNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive