Domestic Abuse Bill — New Clause 23 — Commissioning Specialist Domestic Abuse Services for Victims and Perpetrators of Domestic Abuse — 6 Jul 2020 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted not to require specialist support and services for all persons affected by domestic abuse.

MPs were considering the Domestic Abuse Bill.[1]

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Commissioning specialist domestic abuse services for victims and perpetrators of domestic abuse and began:

  • (1) It is the duty of relevant public authorities in England and non-devolved relevant public authorities in Wales in the exercise of their functions to commission sufficient specialist services for all persons affected by domestic abuse regardless of status.
  • (2) To ensure compliance with the duty under subsection (1) public authorities must—
  • (a) regularly assess population and support needs changes in their area;
  • (b) take account of any strategy to end violence against women and girls adopted by a Minister of the Crown; and
  • (c) co-operate to discharge the duty.
  • ...

The rejected new clause was accompanied by the following statement from the proposer of the new clause:

  • This new clause would establish a statutory duty on relevant public authorities to commission specialist support and services to all persons affected by domestic abuse. This includes refuge and community-based services; specialist services for groups with protected characteristics; services for children and young people; services for perpetrators.
  • [1] Parliament's webpage on the Domestic Abuse Bill,

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con330 (+2 tell) 0091.0%
DUP6 1087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 181 (+2 tell)090.6%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
Total:336 200091.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive