Agriculture Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 100 — 22 Sep 2020 at 22:15

Moved by Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

100: After Clause 42, insert the following new Clause-“Contribution of agriculture and associated land use to climate change targets(1) In performing functions under this Act, the Secretary of State must have due regard to-(a) the target for 2050 contained in section 1 of the Climate Change Act 2008, and (b) international climate change treaties to which the United Kingdom is a signatory, including the Paris Agreement on Climate Change.(2) Within 6 months of the day on which this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must by regulations introduce an interim target for 2030 which would provide for agriculture and associated land use to reduce and sequester climate change emissions in a manner commensurate with meeting the target for 2050.(3) Within 12 months of the day on which this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must lay before Parliament a strategy outlining the policies Her Majesty’s Government will pursue to meet the interim target for 2030.(4) Before fulfilling the requirements under subsections (2) and (3), the Secretary of State must-(a) consult the devolved authorities, and(b) obtain, and take into account, the advice of the Committee on Climate Change.(5) Regulations under subsection (2) are subject to affirmative resolution procedure.(6) In this section-“Committee on Climate Change” means the body established under section 32 of the Climate Change Act 2008;“devolved authorities” has the meaning outlined in section 40 of this Act.”

Ayes 249, Noes 200.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con2 17567.8%
Crossbench34 1930.8%
DUP0 360.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 050.0%
Lab125 069.1%
LDem69 077.5%
Non-affiliated12 223.3%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:249 20056.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of CaithnessConaye
Lord Randall of UxbridgeConaye
Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of LyttonCrossbenchno
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Smith of KelvinCrossbenchno
The Earl of StairCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Walker of AldringhamCrossbenchno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive