United Kingdom Internal Market Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 68A — 25 Nov 2020 at 17:15

Moved by Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

68A: After Clause 43, insert the following new Clause-“State aid and the Office for the Internal Market (1) Within the period of six months beginning with the day on which section 30 comes into force, and within the existing budget, the Secretary of State must by regulations establish the Office for the Internal Market (“the OIM”) as independent of the CMA.(2) The Secretary of State must consult and seek the consent of Scottish Ministers, the Welsh Ministers, and the Department for the Economy in Northern Ireland on appointments to the OIM.(3) Following public consultation about the United Kingdom’s state aid provisions and with the consent of the Scottish Ministers, the Welsh Ministers and the Department for the Economy in Northern Ireland the Secretary of State may by regulations make the OIM the competent body for-(a) investigating harmful and distortive subsidies and subsidy races made by any administration within the United Kingdom and relating to harm in the United Kingdom;(b) recommending to the Secretary of State and the Devolved Administrations changes to the test for a harmful subsidy, remedies, the scope of exemptions and time limits on approvals;(c) recommending changes in its powers and functions.(4) After two years and before three years, beginning with the day on which section 30 comes into force, there shall be a review of the competences of the OIM.(5) Regulations under this section are subject to the affirmative resolution procedure.”

Ayes 298, Noes 257.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con3 20679.2%
Crossbench47 2842.9%
DUP0 5100.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 1100.0%
Judge2 123.1%
Lab139 076.8%
LDem83 094.3%
Non-affiliated19 1455.9%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 2100.0%
Total:298 25767.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Lord Kirkham Conaye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Lord Berkeley of KnightonCrossbenchno
Lord Bichard Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord Chartres Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Cox Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dannatt Crossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Lord Grabiner Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Loomba Crossbenchno
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Richards of HerstmonceuxCrossbenchno
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchno
Lord Thurlow Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Trevethin and Oaksey Crossbenchno
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Brown of Eaton-under-HeywoodJudge (front bench)no
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Kalms Non-affiliatedno
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Mann Non-affiliatedno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Lord Pearson of RannochNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stuart of EdgbastonNon-affiliatedno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Walney Non-affiliatedno
Lord Willoughby de Broke Non-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive