United Kingdom Internal Market Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 75 — 25 Nov 2020 at 19:15

Moved by Lord Fox

75: Clause 50, page 39, line 5, at end insert “, subject to subsection (3A).(3A) A statutory instrument containing regulations under subsection (3) may not appoint a day for the commencement of Part 1, 2, 3 or 4 until the following requirements are met-(a) the requirement in subsection (3B), and(b) the requirement in subsection (3C) or the requirement in subsection (3D).(3B) The requirement in this subsection is that the Prime Minister must convene a plenary session of the Joint Ministerial Council in order to seek agreement of the market access principles set out in section 1(2).(3C) If an agreement on the market access principles is reached at the conclusion of the Joint Ministerial Council session, the requirement in this subsection is that the Secretary of State must lay before Parliament a memorandum of understanding which sets out-(a) details of the agreed principles; and(b) proposals for the establishment of an agreed dispute resolution mechanism relating to the internal market in the United Kingdom for any disputes among the Secretary of State, the Welsh Ministers, the Scottish Ministers, and a Northern Ireland department.(3D) If unanimous agreement is not reached at the conclusion of the Joint Ministerial Council session, the requirement in this subsection is that the Secretary of State must lay before Parliament a report outlining-(a) why unanimous agreement could not be reached; and(b) proposals for the operation of the internal market in the United Kingdom in light of the fact that an agreement under subsection (3B) was not reached unanimously.”

Ayes 134, Noes 247.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 13.8%
Con201 076.1%
Crossbench25 3433.7%
DUP5 0100.0%
Green0 2100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist1 0100.0%
Judge0 17.7%
Lab0 84.4%
LDem0 8090.9%
Non-affiliated13 733.9%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP2 0100.0%
Total:247 13446.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Cox Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Curry of KirkharleCrossbenchno
Lord Dannatt Crossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Baroness Falkner of MargravineCrossbenchno
Lord Grabiner Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of LyttonCrossbenchno
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Vaux of HarrowdenCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Walker of AldringhamCrossbenchno
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Bowness Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Cashman Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Cooper of WindrushNon-affiliatedaye
Lord Smith of FinsburyNon-affiliatedaye
Lord Stone of BlackheathNon-affiliatedaye
Baroness Tonge Non-affiliatedaye
Baroness Uddin Non-affiliatedaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive