High Speed Rail (West Midlands–Crewe) Bill — Report (1st Day) — Amendment 5 — 30 Nov 2020 at 19:30

Moved by Lord Blencathra

5: After Clause 58, insert the following new Clause-“Biodiversity net gainThe scheduled works must achieve 10% biodiversity net gain.”

Ayes 57, Noes 234.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con198 978.4%
Crossbench19 3128.6%
DUP5 0100.0%
Green0 150.0%
Judge1 07.7%
Lab3 54.4%
LDem0 66.8%
Non-affiliated7 520.3%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:234 5736.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Lord Adonis Labno
Lord Anderson of IpswichCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Blencathra Con (front bench)aye
Lord Bowness Non-affiliatedaye
The Earl of CaithnessCon (front bench)aye
Lord Carlile of BerriewCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of Cork and OrreryCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Cormack Con (front bench)aye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLab (minister)no
Lord Framlingham Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Hogg Crossbenchno
Baroness Hooper Conaye
Lord Houghton of RichmondCrossbenchno
Lord Howard of LympneConaye
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Liddle Lab (minister)no
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Randall of UxbridgeConaye
Viscount Ridley Con (front bench)aye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Smith of FinsburyNon-affiliatedaye
The Duke of SomersetCrossbenchno
Lord Thurlow Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Truscott Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)aye
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive