Finance Bill — New Clause 24 — Review of Impact of 2% Non-Resident Surcharge — 24 May 2021 at 21:45

The majority of MPs voted not to require an annual report on the impact of an extra 2% stamp duty tax on land purchases by those not resident in the United Kingdom, and on the potential role of a register of overseas entities that own UK property.

MPs were considering the Finance Act[1][2][3].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Review of impact of 2% non-resident surcharge and stated:

  • (1) The Chancellor of the Exchequer must review the impact of section 88 and schedule 16 of this Act on tax revenues, residential property prices, affordability of residential property, and the volume of property purchases by non-residents, and lay a report of that review before the House of Commons within six months of the passing of this Act and once a year thereafter.
  • (2) The review under this section must include an assessment of what those impacts would have been if the provisions in the Draft Registration of Overseas Entities Bill had been in force.’

Section 88 and schedule 16 of the Act[2][3] introduce a 2% Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) surcharge on purchases of dwellings made by non-resident purchasers, including certain UK- resident companies controlled by non-residents.

The draft Registration of Overseas Entities Bill sets out provisions to establish a new beneficial ownership register of overseas entities that own UK property.[4]


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con356 (+2 tell) 0098.4%
DUP0 6187.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 40100.0%
Lab0 194 (+2 tell)099.0%
LDem0 110100.0%
Total:356 217198.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive