Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill — New Clause 31 — Offence of Assaulting etc. Retail Worker — 5 Jul 2021 at 18:30

The majority of MPs voted against creating a specific offence of assaulting, threatening or abusing a retail worker engaged in retail work.

MPs were considering the Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill[1][2]

The proposed new clause rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was titled: Offence of assaulting etc. retail worker and began:

  • (1) It is an offence for a person to assault, threaten or abuse another person—
  • (a) who is a retail worker, and
  • (b) who is engaged, at the time, in retail work.
  • (2) No offence is committed under subsection (1) unless the person who assaults, threatens or abuses knows or ought to know that the other person—
  • (a) who is a retail worker, and
  • (b) is engaged, at the time, in retail work.
  • (3) A person who commits an offence under subsection (1) is liable, on summary conviction, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, a fine, or both.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con350 (+2 tell) 8098.9%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 195 (+2 tell)099.0%
LDem0 120100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
Total:350 234098.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
Matt VickersStockton SouthCon (front bench)aye
Esther McVeyTattonCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive