Environment Bill — Commons Reasons and Amendments — Motion F1 (as an amendment to Motion F) — 26 Oct 2021 at 18:15

Moved by Lord Krebs

31C: Leave out Clause 24 and insert the following new Clause-“OEP independence(1) The OEP has complete discretion in the carrying out of its functions, including in-(a) preparing its enforcement policy,(b) exercising its enforcement functions, and(c) preparing and publishing its budget.(2) The Secretary of State may issue guidance to the OEP on the matters listed in section 22(6)(c).(3) The OEP must have regard to the guidance in preparing its enforcement policy, unless there are material considerations that indicate otherwise.(4) Before issuing the guidance, the Secretary of State must-(a) prepare and consult on a draft,(b) lay the draft before Parliament, and(c) publish a response to the consultation.(5) The Secretary of State must publish the guidance when it comes into effect.(6) In making or terminating appointments under paragraph 1 and paragraph 5 of Schedule 1, the Secretary of State must obtain the consent of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and Environmental Audit Committees of the House of Commons.””

Ayes 223, Noes 172.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con8 16062.2%
Crossbench43 224.7%
DUP0 5100.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Judge3 027.3%
Lab93 051.7%
LDem65 075.6%
Non-affiliated9 422.8%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:223 17249.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of CaithnessConaye
Lord Cormack Con (front bench)aye
Lord Deben Conaye
Lord Duncan of SpringbankCon (front bench)aye
Lord Framlingham Conaye
Lord Mackay of ClashfernConaye
Baroness McIntosh of PickeringCon (front bench)aye
Lord Randall of UxbridgeConaye
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord McDonald of SalfordCrossbenchno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive