Environment Bill — Commons Reasons and Amendments — Motion G1 (as an amendment to Motion G) — 26 Oct 2021 at 18:33

Moved by Lord Anderson of Ipswich

33B: Clause 37, page 22, line 23, leave out subsection (8) and insert-“(8) Where the court makes a statement of non-compliance it may grant any remedy that may be granted by it on a judicial review other than damages.(8A) In deciding whether to grant such a remedy, the court must have regard to-(a) the nature and circumstances of the non-compliance;(b) any detriment to good administration that would result from granting or failing to grant a remedy;(c) the interests or expectations of persons who would benefit from the grant of a remedy;(d) the interests or expectations of persons who have relied on the failure by the public authority to comply with environmental law;(e) any other matter that appears to the court to be relevant.””

Ayes 207, Noes 172.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con8 13748.8%
Crossbench29 315.8%
DUP0 360.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Judge2 013.3%
Lab90 040.0%
LDem63 058.3%
Non-affiliated2 06.3%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:196 14438.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of CaithnessCon (front bench)aye
Lord Deben Conaye
Lord Duncan of SpringbankCon (front bench)aye
Lord Framlingham Conaye
Lord Mackay of ClashfernConaye
Baroness McIntosh of PickeringCon (front bench)aye
The Duke of WellingtonConaye
Baroness Wheatcroft Conaye
Lord Broers Crossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive