Rail Investment and Integrated Rail Plan — 8 Dec 2021 at 20:21

“on cost and on merit: it will not achieve its stated objectives.”-[Official Report, 15 September 2015; Vol. 599, c. 1006.]
“a second-class option for the North”
“Now all we want for Christmas, is our trains back;
And no more empty election yackity yack.”
“Now that the Prime Minister knows where Fleetwood is, will he finally say when the railway connection will be reinstated to Poulton and the rest of the country?”
“fall at the first hurdle”
“It is a victory for common sense”.
“We will also upgrade and electrify”-
“the line between Leeds and Bradford giving a non-stop journey time which could be as low as 12 minutes.”
“We will remedy the scandal that Leeds is the largest city in western Europe without light rail or a metro.”-[Official Report, 19 December 2019; Vol. 669, c. 47.
“Harry, 11, was standing squashed with his Dad. He started to go pale and felt sick. He then suddenly collapsed, went limp, eyes rolled back and he passed out. We pulled the emergency stop button. After about a minute, he came round, but was weak, limp and only just responding. There was no space for him to lie down”-
“no space for me to even get to him. No space for the conductor to get to him to see if he needed medical help. The windows were closed. It was hot, airless, and people were packed to absolute capacity. What does it take for the train companies to understand that packing trains full to above safe capacity is a fatality waiting to happen. The conductors were encouraging people to get on an already dangerously full train.”
“driving decline in our railways”.
“The Government recognise the importance of improving rail connectivity to Bradford-for the local community, for passengers and for the regeneration opportunities that it could bring.”-[Official Report, 30 June 2021; Vol. 698, c. 72WH.]
“both are needed and both will be built as quickly and as cost-effectively as possible.”-[Official Report, 11 February 2020; Vol. 671, c. 713.]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 000.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent2 0033.3%
Lab112 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)058.3%
LDem7 0058.3%
SNP17 0037.8%
Total:139 0022.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gill FurnissSheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLab (minister)tellno
Taiwo OwatemiCoventry North WestLab (minister)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive