Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill — Clause 55 — Imposing Conditions on Public Processions — 28 Feb 2022 at 23:30

The majority of MPs voted to allow the police to set conditions on seriously disruptively noisy processions.

MPs were considering the Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill[1][2]

The motion supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 73.

Amendment 73 stated[4]:

  • Page 47, line 1, leave out subsections (2) and (3)

Had it not been rejected the amendment would have impacted Clause 55 of the Bill[6] titled: Imposing conditions on public processions.

Subsections 2 and 3 provided for powers for the police to set conditions on seriously disruptively noisy processions.

The explanatory notes to the rejected amendment[5] stated:

  • Lords Amendment 73* would omit subsections (2) and (3) from Clause 55. These subsections broaden the circumstances in which conditions may be imposed on those organising or taking part in a procession to include where the senior police officer reasonably believes that the noise generated by persons taking part in the procession may have a significant relevant impact on persons in the vicinity or may result in serious disruption to the activities of an organisation which are carried on in the vicinity of the procession.


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con285 (+2 tell) 2079.8%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 4080.0%
Lab0 165 (+2 tell)083.9%
LDem0 12092.3%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 40088.9%
Total:285 238082.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConno
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive