Health and Care Bill — Clause 40 — Reconfiguration of Services: Intervention Powers — 30 Mar 2022 at 19:25

The majority of MPs voted to allow the Secretary of State to intervene in decisions by NHS England or Integrated Care Boards which change the range of NHS services available to individuals, or the manner in which they are delivered.

MPs were considering the Health and Care Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by a majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 30.

Lords amendment 30 stated:[4]

  • Leave out Clause 40

The Explanatory notes relating to Clause 40 stated:[3]

  • This clause amends the NHS Act 2006, to insert a new section, 68A. Section 68A provides for a new Schedule 10A to confers intervention powers on the Secretary of State in relation to the reconfiguration of NHS services.

The clause invokes and inserts a new schedule of the National Health Service Act 2006 which "confers intervention powers on the Secretary of State in relation to the reconfiguration of NHS services".

The schedule requires NHS bodies to notify the Secretary of State about reconfiguration proposals and circumstances where reconfiguration is likely to be needed. The Schedule provides that "The Secretary of State may give an NHS commissioning body a direction calling in any proposal by the body for the reconfiguration of NHS services."


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con258 (+2 tell) 2072.4%
DUP3 0037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2040.0%
Lab0 135 (+2 tell)068.5%
LDem0 11084.6%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1050.0%
Total:261 155070.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Jeremy HuntSouth West SurreyCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive