Nationality and Borders Bill — After Clause 12 — Changes to the Immigration Act 1971 — Asylum Applicants — Right to Work — 20 Apr 2022 at 17:48

The majority of MPs voted not to allow those seeking asylum, and their adult dependents, to work if a decision on their application has not been made within six months.

MPs were considering the Nationality and Borders Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 7B.

Lords amendment 7B[4] provided that those seeking asylum, and their adult dependents, would be permitted to work if a decision on their application has not been made within six months.

The previous position was that permission to work was required, and it was only granted[5]:

  • * to individuals who had waited over 12 months for an initial decision on their asylum claim or for a response to a further submission for asylum
  • * where individuals were not considered responsible for the delay in consideration of their application
  • * to permit work at "graduate level" in jobs on the UK’s shortage occupation list.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con291 (+2 tell) 11084.0%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 165082.5%
LDem0 12092.3%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 40 (+2 tell)093.3%
Total:292 243084.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Stephen HammondWimbledonConno
Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Kevin HollinrakeThirsk and MaltonCon (front bench)no
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)no
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive