Judicial Review and Courts Bill — Commons Amendment and Reasons — Motion C1 (as an amendment to Motion C) — 27 Apr 2022 at 16:45

Moved by Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

11B: Insert the following new Clause-“Independent review of publicly funded legal representation for bereaved people at inquests(1) The Lord Chancellor must commission an independent review of the need for provision of publicly funded legal representation for bereaved people at inquests not more than six months after the passing of this Act.(2) The review must be chaired by a person appointed by the Lord Chancellor. (3) The review must include a consultation with interested stakeholders, whose submissions must be published.(4) The Lord Chancellor must publish the outcome of the review and lay it before Parliament no later than one year after the passing of this Act.””

Ayes 219, Noes 229.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.0%
Con207 278.3%
Crossbench11 3827.4%
DUP3 180.0%
Green0 2100.0%
Judge0 218.2%
Lab0 9554.0%
LDem0 7083.3%
Non-affiliated6 723.2%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP2 0100.0%
Total:229 21955.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Hailsham Conaye
Lord Howard of LympneCon (front bench)aye
Lord Bew Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Lord Curry of KirkharleCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Thurlow Crossbenchno
Lord Vaux of HarrowdenCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Watkins of TavistockCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Wheatcroft Crossbenchno
Lord Dodds of DuncairnDUP (front bench)aye
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
The Earl of KinnoullNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive