Maria Eagle MP, Garston and Halewood

voted ambiguously on the policy

Fixed Term Parliaments

by scoring 51.4% compared to the votes below

Why Majority/minority instead of Aye/No?
HouseDateSubjectMaria EaglePolicy vote
Commons13 Sep 2010Fixed-term Parliaments Bill — Second Reading absentMajority (strong)
Commons1 Dec 2010Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Early General Elections minorityminority
Commons18 Jan 2011Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Third Reading absentMajority (strong)
Commons13 Jul 2011Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Clause 1 — Both Houses of Parliament to Approve General Election Date minorityMajority (strong)
Commons23 Oct 2014Repeal of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 MajorityMajority (strong)
HouseDateSubjectMaria EaglePolicy vote
Commons6 Jul 2021Dissolution and Calling of Parliament Bill — Second Reading absentminority (strong)
Commons13 Sep 2021Dissolution and Calling of Parliament Bill — Clause 2 — Revival of Prerogative Powers to Dissolve Parliament and to Call a new Parliament absentminority (strong)
Commons13 Sep 2021Dissolution and Calling of Parliament Bill — Third Reading absentminority (strong)

How the number is calculated

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, no points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, no points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Questions about this formula can be discussed on the forum.

No of votesPointsOut of
Most important votes (50 points)   
MP voted with policy15050
MP voted against policy1050
MP absent5125250
Less important votes (10 points)   
MP voted with policy11010
MP voted against policy000
Less important absentees (2 points)   
MP absent*000

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Lords are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

agreement score
MP's points
total points
 = 51.4 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive