Clive Betts MP, Sheffield South East

voted strongly against the policy

Cap or Reduce Public Sector Redundancy Payments

by scoring 0.0% compared to the votes below

Why Majority/minority instead of Aye/No?
HouseDateSubjectClive BettsPolicy vote
Commons7 Sep 2010Superannuation Bill — Decline Second Reading minorityMajority (strong)
Commons7 Sep 2010Superannuation Bill — Second Reading minorityMajority (strong)
Commons13 Oct 2010Superannuation Bill — New Clause 1 — Consents required for civil service compensation scheme modifications minorityMajority (strong)
Commons13 Oct 2010Superannuation Bill — Clause 1 — Limits on value of benefits provided under civil service compensation scheme minorityMajority (strong)
Commons13 Oct 2010Superannuation Bill — Third Reading minorityMajority (strong)
HouseDateSubjectClive BettsPolicy vote
Commons30 Sep 2020Draft Restriction of Public Sector Exit Payments Regulations 2020 minorityMajority (strong)

How the number is calculated

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, no points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, no points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Questions about this formula can be discussed on the forum.

No of votesPointsOut of
Most important votes (50 points)   
MP voted with policy000
MP voted against policy60300
MP absent000
Less important votes (10 points)   
MP voted with policy000
MP voted against policy000
Less important absentees (2 points)   
MP absent*000

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Lords are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

agreement score
MP's points
total points
 = 0.0 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive