Crime and Disorder Bill — Reduction of Age of Consent for Homosexual Acts to 16 — 22 Jun 1998

The majority of MPs voted to reduce the age of consent for homosexual acts from eighteen to sixteen bringing equality to the the law affecting heterosexual and homosexual acts.

The majority of MPs voted to insert a new clause into the Crime and Disorder Bill[1] which read:[2]

The last part was to equalize the age of consent between homosexual and heterosexual acts which at the time was set at 17 in Northern Ireland.

This clause did not survive into the Crime and Disorder Act 1998,[6] and finally appeared in Sexual Offences (Amendment) Act 2000.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con18 (+1 tell) 109 (+2 tell)080.2%
DUP0 1050.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab283 (+1 tell) 14071.3%
LDem31 3073.9%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:336 129072.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Mr Richard BodyBoston and SkegnessConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterCon (front bench)aye
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Tim BoswellDaventryCon (front bench)aye
Mr Alastair GoodladEddisburyConaye
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestContellaye
Sir Peter LloydFarehamConaye
Mr Andrew RoweFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mr Jamie CannIpswichLabno
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Ted RowlandsMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLab (minister)no
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)no
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexCon (front bench)aye
Mr David PriorNorth NorfolkConaye
Mr Raymond PowellOgmoreLabno
Mr Edward HeathOld Bexley and SidcupConaye
Mr Allan RogersRhonddaLabno
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonCon (front bench)aye
Robert KeySalisburyConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Mr Gerry BerminghamSt Helens SouthLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLab (minister)no
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Robert JacksonWantageConaye
Shaun WoodwardWitneywhilst Conaye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive