Criminal Justice (Terrorism and Conspiracy) Bill — Conspiracy to commit offences outside the United Kingdom — 2 Sep 1998

I beg to move amendment No. 80, in page 7, line 10, after 'Kingdom' insert 'other than a country or territory to which subsection (2A) applies.

(2A) This subsection applies to any country or territory which--

(a) is the subject of any embargo on trade agreed by the General Assembly of the United Nations, the European Union or Her Majesty's Government;

(b) has not ratified the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; or

(c) in the opinion of the Secretary of State is a country or territory where human rights are not respected.'.

Amendment, by leave, withdrawn.

Question proposed , That the clause stand part of the Bill.

It being six hours after the conclusion of proceedings on Second Reading, The Chairman, pursuant to the Order [this day], put forthwith the Questions necessary to dispose of proceedings to be concluded at that hour.

The Committee divided: Ayes 220, Noes 24.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con15 009.3%
Lab205 (+2 tell) 17 (+1 tell)053.8%
LDem0 7 (+1 tell)017.4%
Total:220 24039.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Dennis CanavanFalkirk Westwhilst Labno
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Ann CryerKeighleyLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLab (minister)no
Mrs Maria FyfeGlasgow MaryhillLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
John McAllionDundee EastLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabtellno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Ms Audrey WisePrestonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive