Organ Transplants (Presumed Consent) — 11 Apr 2000

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to establish a national register of people who have not given their consent to transplant of their organs after death; to lay down procedures to be followed before an organ transplant takes place; and for connected purposes.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business): --

The House divided: Ayes 113, Noes 23.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con7 9 (+2 tell)011.3%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab86 (+2 tell) 5022.4%
LDem18 8056.5%
PC2 0050.0%
Total:113 23022.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDem (front bench)no
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConaye
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Mr Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabno
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabno
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDem (front bench)no
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)aye
David TredinnickBosworthCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive