Northern Ireland (Flags) — 16 May 2000

I beg to move,

That the draft Flags (Northern Ireland) Order 2000, which was laid before this House on 15th May, be approved.

the present wish of a majority of the people of Northern Ireland . . . is to maintain the Union and accordingly, that Northern Ireland's status as part of the United Kingdom reflects and relies upon that wish . . .

just and equal treatment for the identity, ethos, and aspirations of both.

We considered the removal of symbols but this could be misinterpreted as inconsistent with Northern Ireland's constitutional position.

The Secretary of State may make regulations regulating the flying of flags at government buidings.

The Assembly shall, within such period as the Secretary of State may specify, report to the Secretary of State the views expressed in the Assembly.

In exercising his powers under Article 3 the Secretary of State shall have regard to the Belfast Agreement.

Question put: --

The House divided: Ayes 240, Noes 8.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con9 4 (+1 tell)08.8%
DUP0 20100.0%
Lab219 (+2 tell) 0053.3%
LDem10 0021.3%
PC1 0025.0%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP0 1 (+1 tell)022.2%
Total:239 8039.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)tellno
Mrs Teresa GormanBillericayConno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive