Election of Speaker — 23 Oct 2000

I beg to move, as an amendment to the Question, to leave out "Mr. Michael J. Martin" and insert instead thereof "Mr. Nicholas Winterton".

We all know my hon. Friend the Member for Macclesfield (Mr. Winterton). More important, the country knows him as a man of courage and integrity. When I take schoolchildren around the House and we go to the Queen's Robing room, I point out that two frescoes are missing. Two of King Arthur's knightly virtues are not portrayed on the walls. I jokingly say to the constituents that it is no surprise because they are the two virtues that are the rarest among politicians--fidelity and courage.

You choose a member indeed, but when you have chosen him, he is not member of Bristol but he is a Member of Parliament.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.

Question put , That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 116, Noes 340.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 100 (+1 tell)064.4%
DUP0 1033.3%
Independent1 1066.7%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab298 (+2 tell) 7 (+1 tell)074.4%
LDem33 1072.3%
PC3 10100.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP0 4044.4%
Total:340 116071.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)no
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)no
Ms Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)aye
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)tellaye
Mr Jeff RookerBirmingham, Perry BarrLab (minister)aye
Paddy TippingSherwoodLab (minister)aye
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemaye
Mr Dafydd WigleyCaernarfonPCaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive