Road Transport Bill — 9 Feb 2001

Order for Second Reading read.

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

Exceeding the speed limit, driving while using a mobile telephone, failing to observe basic seat-belt rules are things that we all do every day although we know we should not. Road safety across the nation would be greatly improved if we took better notice of those things that we know we should be doing. My Bill helps to address that issue.

My concern is that the Bill does not provide that remedy either.

The Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions is due to commence a public consultation shortly on two draft Statutory Instruments which will create tough penalties for both the installation and use of such devices in a motor vehicle."--[ Official Report , 8 January 2001; Vol. 360, c.428W.]

Question, That the Question be now put, put and agreed to.

Question put accordingly, That the Bill be now read a Second time:--

The House divided: Ayes 15, Noes 1.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConaye
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireContellaye
John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)aye
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)tellaye
Mr Nick St AubynGuildfordConno
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLabaye
George GallowayGlasgow KelvinLabaye
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLab (minister)aye
John GroganSelbyLab (minister)aye
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Gareth ThomasHarrow WestLab (minister)aye
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabtellno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabtellno
Mr Paddy AshdownYeovilLDem (front bench)aye
Norman BakerLewesLDem (front bench)aye
Mr Simon ThomasCeredigionPCaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive