High Hedges Bill — Established hedges — 27 Apr 2001

Not amended in the Standing Committee, considered.

Brought up, and read the First time.

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Mr. Speaker:

With this it will be convenient to discuss the following amendments: No. 3, in clause 2, page 2, line 7, leave out from "means" to first "a" in line 9 and insert--

The Bill refers to two trees planted, to take the extreme, 35 inches apart as amounting to a hedge. That is ludicrous. It does not accord with common parlance and it certainly does not accord with the horticultural dictionary prepared by that most respectable body, the RHS.

An example is given of an appeal case in 1904, in which two boroughs in New Zealand six miles apart at their closest were held to be adjacent for the purposes of statutory contributions to the cost of building a bridge. I will not read out all the other references in the dictionary in relation to "adjacent", but the House will be interested in the use of the phrase "adjacent to the common boundary", which was included in a restrictive covenant. That was the subject of litigation in 1968, and the result was a finding that the expression was too vague to be enforceable.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:--

The House divided: Ayes 1, Noes 35.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConno
Mr Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterConno
Mr Christopher GillLudlowContellno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConno
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConno
Mr Nick St AubynGuildfordConno
Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullContellno
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabtellaye
Andrew DismoreHendonLabtellaye
Bob AinsworthCoventry North EastLabno
Mr Paul BoatengBrent SouthLabno
Des BrowneKilmarnock and LoudounLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabno
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabno
Jim DowdLewisham WestLabno
Maria EagleLiverpool, GarstonLabno
Clive EffordElthamLabno
Mike GapesIlford SouthLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Eric JoyceFalkirk WestLabno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Steve McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabno
Steve PoundEaling NorthLabno
Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Clive SoleyEaling, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabno
Mrs Ann TaylorDewsburyLabno
Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labno
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLabno
Mr Brian WilsonCunninghame NorthLabno
Don FosterBathLDemno
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive