[S1M-2347.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 25 Oct 2001 at 17:05

This looks like the vote on S1M-2347.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-25 is:

*S1M-2347.1 Dennis Canavan: Scotland and the Current International Situation-As an amendment to motion (S1M-2347) in the name of Mr John Swinney, leave out from "and agrees" to end and insert "but agrees that any measure to that effect must be based on the role of international law and respect for human rights, particularly innocent people's right to life, and therefore calls for an end to the current military action in Afghanistan and for an effective humanitarian operation to meet the desperate needs of the innocent Afghan population." Supported by: Robin Harper*, Tommy Sheridan*, Mr John McAllion*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2347.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that amendment S1M-2347.1, in the name of Dennis Canavan, which seeks to amend motion S1M-2347, in the name of John Swinney, on Scotland and the current international situation, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con18 0094.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab46 3292.7%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 32481.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:77 112689.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kate MacleanDundee WestLabaye
John McAllionDundee EastLabaye
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Pauline McNeillGlasgow KelvinLababstention
Cathy PeattieFalkirk EastLababstention
Christine GrahameSouth of ScotlandSNPaye
Alex NeilCentral ScotlandSNPaye
Lloyd QuinanWest of ScotlandSNPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive