Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill — Clause 109 and 110 — Implementation of the third pillar — 21 Nov 2001 at 22:00

The Aye-voters agreed that Clauses 109 and 110 of the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill (or, as they became, Clauses 111 and 112 of the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001) should be part of the law.

These two clauses gave an authorized minister (Secretary of State, First Minister in the Scottish Parliament, etc.) the ability to make regulations to implement obligations arising from the third pillar of the Maastricht Treaty of Europe, which is the part to do with cooperation in justice and home affairs.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 136 (+1 tell)083.5%
DUP0 4080.0%
Lab342 (+2 tell) 6085.4%
LDem0 46 (+1 tell)090.4%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP1 2050.0%
Total:343 203085.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Sylvia HermonNorth DownUUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive