Adoption and Children Bill — [2nd Allotted Day] — Applications for adoption — 16 May 2002 at 17:45

This amendment to the Adoption and Children Bill allowed unmarried couples (both heterosexual and homosexual) to adopt children. Those voting aye were for the amendment.

Amendment proposed: No. 148, in page 28, line 41, leave out "married".-[Mr. Hinchliffe.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 288, Noes 133.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con4 110 (+2 tell)070.7%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab251 (+1 tell) 19066.1%
LDem28 (+1 tell) 2058.5%
PC3 0075.0%
UUP0 2033.3%
Total:287 133066.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabno
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabno
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)no
Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLab (minister)no
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)no
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Robert WalterNorth DorsetCon (front bench)aye
Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)aye
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
John PughSouthportLDem (front bench)no
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive