Adoption and Children Bill — [2nd Allotted Day] — Applications for adoption — 16 May 2002 at 17:45

This amendment to the Adoption and Children Bill allowed unmarried couples (both heterosexual and homosexual) to adopt children. Those voting aye were for the amendment.

Amendment proposed: No. 148, in page 28, line 41, leave out "married".-[Mr. Hinchliffe.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 288, Noes 133.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con4 110 (+2 tell)070.7%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab251 (+1 tell) 19066.1%
LDem28 (+1 tell) 2058.5%
PC3 0075.0%
UUP0 2033.3%
Total:287 133066.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLab (minister)no
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)no
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)no
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLab (minister)no
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabno
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)aye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLab (minister)no
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Bill OlnerNuneatonLabno
John PughSouthportLDem (front bench)no
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Robert WalterNorth DorsetCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive