Adoption and Children Bill — Suitability Of Adopters — 4 Nov 2002 at 20:15

Whilst in the commons for the first time, the Adoption and Children bill was amended to allow unmarried heterosexual and homosexual couples to adopt children. However, when the bill went to the Lords, they rejected the amendment and reinstated the original "married couples only" rule. Back in the commons, the aye voters in this division sought to reject the modification in the Lords and allow umarried heterosexual and homosexual couples to adopt.

The House divided: Ayes 344, Noes 145.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con8 118 (+2 tell)078.5%
DUP0 4080.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab288 (+2 tell) 19075.4%
LDem44 0083.0%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0040.0%
UUP0 2033.3%
Total:344 145076.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeCon (front bench)aye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)aye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Francis MaudeHorshamConaye
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConaye
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLab (minister)no
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabno
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLab (minister)no
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Stephen HepburnJarrowLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLab (minister)no
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabno
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive