Communications Bill — 23 Jun 2003 at 15:54

Report received.

Clause 3 [General duties of OFCOM]:

moved Amendment No. 1:

Page 3, line 3, leave out subsection (1) and insert-

"(1) It shall be the principal duty of OFCOM, in carrying out their functions-

(a) to further the interests of citizens in relation to communications matters; and

(b) in that context, to further the interests of consumers in relevant markets;

and to do so where appropriate by promoting competition.

(1A) Where it appears to OFCOM, in relation to the carrying out of any of their functions under Chapter 1 of Part 2, that the requirement specified in subsection (1)(a) conflicts with the requirement specified in subsection (1)(b), they may give priority to the requirement specified in subsection (1)(b)."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1) shall be agreed to?

*Their Lordships divided: Contents, 179; Not-Contents, 75.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.3%
Con73 (+1 tell) 034.4%
Crossbench27 116.4%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab33 (+1 tell) 70 (+2 tell)54.6%
LDem40 061.5%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:177 7137.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ashley of StokeLabaye
Lord Barnett Lab (minister)aye
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLab (minister)aye
Baroness Blood Labaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Clinton-Davis Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLab (minister)aye
Baroness David Labaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Lord Desai Lab (minister)aye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Elder Lab (minister)aye
Lord Evans of WatfordLabaye
Lord Gavron Lab (minister)aye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Baroness Hilton of EggardonLab (minister)aye
Lord Hogg of CumbernauldLabaye
Baroness Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Lord Jordan Labaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)aye
Baroness McIntosh of HudnallLabaye
Lord Mitchell Lab (minister)aye
Lord Morgan Lab (minister)aye
Lord Murray of Epping ForestLabaye
Lord Peston Lab (minister)aye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Lord Puttnam Labtellaye
Baroness Rendell of BaberghLab (minister)aye
Lord Sheldon Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive