[S2M-985.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 11 Mar 2004 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-985.2

The description in the bulletin on 2004-03-11 is:

*S2M-985.2 Euan Robson: Nursery Nurses, A Just Claim—As an amendment to motion (S2M-985) in the name of Carolyn Leckie, leave out from "agrees" to end and insert "recognises the importance of the pre-five sector to securing the best possible start to life for Scotland’s young people and the priority the Scottish Executive has given to pre-five provision; welcomes the significant progress in pre-school education entitlement for three and four-year-olds achieved over recent years; emphasises that nursery nurses and others in the early years workforce should receive pay that is fair to them and is financially sustainable; notes grading settlements made to date; urges COSLA to do all it can to support a resolution to the current dispute; further urges the local authority employers and unions to continue negotiations, and encourages the Executive to push forward with plans to secure improved workforce planning, qualifications structure and career pathways for the early years workforce as a means of securing recognition of the commitment and professionalism of pre-five workers, greater opportunities and equality in the workplace for this predominantly female workforce." Supported by: Peter Peacock*

You can search for this motion (S2M-985.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S2M-985.2, in the name of Euan Robson, which seeks to amend motion S2M-985, in the name of Carolyn Leckie, on nursery nurses-a just claim, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con11 2072.2%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab44 1396.0%
LDem15 0088.2%
SNP0 24092.3%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 60100.0%
Total:70 44391.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alex FergussonGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
David MundellSouth of ScotlandConno
Johann LamontGlasgow PollokLabno
Helen EadieDunfermline EastLababstention
Karen GillonClydesdaleLababstention
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive