Points of Order — 22 Apr 2004 at 13:27

I beg to move, That the House sit in private.

Question put forthwith, pursuant to Standing Order No. 163 (motion to sit in private):-

The House divided: Ayes 15, Noes 211.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con41 14 (+2 tell)035.0%
Lab132 (+2 tell) 1033.1%
LDem31 0057.4%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP1 0020.0%
UUP3 0060.0%
Total:211 15036.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gerald HowarthAldershotCon (front bench)tellaye
Andrew RobathanBlabyCon (front bench)aye
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstContellaye
Bob SpinkCastle PointConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Conaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConaye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)aye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyCon (front bench)aye
Sir David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)aye
Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonCon (front bench)aye
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)aye
Charles HendryWealdenCon (front bench)aye
Mr Tony BanksWest HamLabaye
Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive