Housing Bill — Decent Homes Standard for Social Housing — 8 Nov 2004 at 21:30

I beg to move, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment.

Yes, it is me again. The new clause proposed by the amendment would require the Secretary of State to ensure that, by 2016, all existing social housing stock should, as far as is reasonably practicable, achieve a SAP rating-an energy rating under the standard assessment procedure-of no lower than 65, which would amount to a change in the decent homes standard. I refer to that point because material circulated among Members recognises that the decent homes standard is the Government's vehicle for the delivery of heating and thermal comfort.

Question put, That this House disagrees with the Lords in the said amendment:-

The House divided: Ayes 265, Noes 156.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 114 (+2 tell)071.2%
DUP0 3050.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab265 (+2 tell) 16069.5%
LDem0 18032.7%
PC0 2050.0%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:265 156066.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Clive EffordElthamLab (minister)no
Barbara FollettStevenageLab (minister)no
John GroganSelbyLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)no
Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLab (minister)no
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLab (minister)no
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive