Prevention of Terrorism Bill — Insisted Amendment — Courts and Control Orders — 10 Mar 2005 at 40:30

The Aye-voters reaffirmed their vote earlier in Division 135, which reaffirmed the vote in Division 131, which reaffirmed their vote the day before in Division 122, and took out the changes made to the Prevention of Terrorism Bill by the House of Lords to make is so that a court would issue all control orders, rather than the secretary of state.

In technical speak, this was done by:

I beg to move, That this House insists on its amendments 1A and 1B to Lords amendment 1, insists on its disagreement to Lords amendments 12, 13, 15, 17, 22, 28 and 37 and insists on its amendments 37A to 37C and 37E to 37O and 37X, insists on its disagreement to Lords amendments 37Q, 37S and 37T proposed in lieu of Lords amendment 8, insists on its amendments 17H to 17M to the words restored to the Bill by its insistence on its disagreement to Lords amendment 17 and disagrees with Lords amendment 37Y.

If there are compromises in there, I leave it to you to find them and make them legible.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 144 (+1 tell)090.1%
DUP0 1014.3%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab319 (+2 tell) 15182.6%
LDem0 52 (+1 tell)096.4%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 1020.0%
Total:320 214184.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLab (minister)no
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Barbara FollettStevenageLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLab (minister)no
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive