Committees — Term Limits for Chairmen of Select Committees — 13 Jul 2005 at 17:02

The issue in this division was whether to tighten the restriction on the terms of Chairmen of Select Committees. The House had previously agreed Standing Order 122A which read:

Unless the House otherwise orders, no select committee may choose as its chairman any Member who has served as chairman of that committee for the two previous Parliaments or a continuous period of eight years, whichever is the greater period.

The motion which was divided on here was to change the word "choose" to "have", so that the Standing Order would read "no select committee may have as its chairman ...". The effect would be to force incumbent chairmen who went over the time limit to stand down.

As this was a House of Commons matter, no whips were applied in this division. The people in charge of this site can perfectly simply find this out for themselves if they had half a wit or did some serious research but instead they aren't really interested in the politics and just like to play around with statistics which are ultimately quite meaningless.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con6 85 (+2 tell)047.4%
DUP0 5055.6%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab205 (+2 tell) 10061.3%
LDem14 0023.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP4 0066.7%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:233 102053.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConaye
John HoramOrpingtonConaye
David LidingtonAylesburyConaye
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConaye
Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Clive EffordElthamLabno
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive