Terrorism Bill — Clause 1 — Encouragement of Terrorism — 15 Feb 2006 at 15:15

Those voting Aye removed a Lords amendment to Clause 1 of the Terrorism Bill

The original words of subsection 1(4) were:

It is irrelevant... whether the statement relates to the [a] particular act of terrorism... or of acts of terrorism... generally; and whether any person is in fact encouraged or induced by the statement.

The Lords had changed this to:

For the purposes of this [law] "indirect encouragement" comprises the making of a statement describing terrorism in such a way that the listener would infer that he should emulate it.

And those voting Aye in the Commons changed it back, before committing a number of other of their own changes listed at the bottom of the debate.

The dispute appears to be whether a statement which glorifies terrorism should be an offence, even if it has no effect and was not intended to have an effect on anyone's physical activity.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 181 (+2 tell)093.4%
DUP0 90100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab314 (+2 tell) 17094.3%
LDem0 59093.7%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:315 277094.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLab (minister)no
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)no
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)no
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive