Terrorism Bill — 16 Mar 2006 at 15:45

Those voting Aye passed the removed the Lord's amendments to the Terrorism Bill and made some minor changes to the original text. This was done with the motion:

That this House insists on its disagreement with the Lords in their Amendments 5, 11, 31 and 34 and insists on its Amendment 34B but does not insist on its disagreement with the Lords in their Amendment 28 and proposes the following Amendment in lieu:—

I can find no easy presentation of these numbered amendments on a web-page to explain what is meant.

The extra change was to insert into Clause 2(8) "Dissemination of terrorist publications the paragraph:

(8A) The reference in subsection (8) to something that is likely to be understood as an indirect encouragement to... acts of terrorism... includes anything which is likely to be understood as (a) the glorification of... such acts... and (b) a suggestion that what is being glorified is being glorified as conduct that should be emulated in existing circumstances.

This sounds pretty similar to the meaning of what was proposed in Division 195 but rejected. Does anyone know?

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 158 (+1 tell)081.1%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab296 (+2 tell) 10087.3%
LDem0 60 (+1 tell)096.8%
PC0 2066.7%
Respect0 10100.0%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:296 237084.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLab (minister)no
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive