Deferred Division — Conventions (Joint Committee) — 17 May 2006 at 19:18

That the Lords Message [25 April] relating to Conventions be now considered.
That this House concurs with the Lords in the said Resolution;
That, accepting the primacy of the House of Commons, a Select Committee of 11 Members be appointed to join with a Committee appointed by the House of Lords as the Joint Committee on Conventions, to consider the practicality of codifying the key conventions on the relationship between the two Houses of Parliament which affect the consideration of legislation, in particular.
(A) The Salisbury-Addison convention that the Lords does not vote against measures included in the governing party's Manifesto;
(B) conventions on secondary legislation;
(C) the convention that Government business in the Lords should be considered in reasonable time;
(D) conventions governing the exchange of amendments to legislation between the two Houses; and that the Committee should report by Friday 21 July 2006;
That the Committee should have power-
(i) To send for persons, papers and records;
(ii) to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House;
(iii) to report from time to time;
(iv) to appoint specialist advisers;
(v) to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom; and
That Mr. Russell Brown, Mr. Wayne David, Mr. George Howarth, Simon Hughes, Sarah McCarthy-Fry, Andrew Miller, Sir Malcolm Rifkind, Mr. John Spellar, Ms Gisela Stuart, Mr. Andrew Tyrie and Sir Nicholas Winterton be Members of the Committee.

The House divided: Ayes 416, Noes 20.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con114 15066.2%
DUP9 00100.0%
Lab241 0068.3%
LDem47 0074.6%
PC1 0033.3%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:416 20068.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BercowBuckinghamwhilst Con (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DunneLudlowCon (front bench)no
Michael FallonSevenoaksCon (front bench)no
Greg HandsHammersmith and FulhamCon (front bench)no
Gerald HowarthAldershotCon (front bench)no
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexCon (front bench)no
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamCon (front bench)no
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)no
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive