Orders of the Day — Sustainable Communities Bill — 19 Jan 2007 at 12:58

MPs voted on a technical motion "That the Question be now put". In other words, those voting Aye were agreeing that now was an appropriate time to put the Question. Those voting No were saying that debate should continue.

Unfortunately, this language is somewhat confusing, since it fails to define what "the Question" is. In this case "the Question" was "Should the Bill receive its second reading?".

Translating, this means the original motion was "Is now an appropriate time to proceed to a further motion on whether the Bill should receive a Second Reading?". This is known as a closure motion, simply because it is a motion to end debate. Closure motions require 100 votes in favour, or they will not be deemed to have reached the quorum necessary for them to be carried. Closure motions will only be accepted by the Speaker if he/she deems there to have been enough debate (usually around 4-5 hours) for one to be allowed to be put to the vote. In the event the closure motion was approved by 175 votes to 17.

If the closure motion had not received 100 ayes in favour, debate would have resumed, since closure would not have been granted. This notably happened in the case of Clare Short's Armed Forces (Parliamentary Approval for Participation in Armed Conflict) Bill.

Once closure was secured, the motion to give the Sustainable Communities Bill a Second Reading was approved on the nod, and the Bill proceeded to a public bill committee.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con119 (+2 tell) 0061.7%
Lab30 17 (+2 tell)013.9%
LDem24 0038.1%
PC1 0033.3%
Respect1 00100.0%
Total:175 17031.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Lyn BrownWest HamLab (minister)no
Andy BurnhamLeighLab (minister)no
Dawn ButlerBrent SouthLab (minister)no
Wayne DavidCaerphillyLab (minister)no
Andrew DismoreHendonLab (minister)no
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLab (minister)no
John HealeyWentworthLab (minister)no
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)no
Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLab (minister)no
Thomas McAvoyRutherglen and Hamilton WestLab (minister)no
Steve McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLab (minister)no
Shona McIsaacCleethorpesLab (minister)no
Tony McNultyHarrow EastLab (minister)no
Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLab (minister)no
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)no
Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLab (minister)no
Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLab (minister)tellno
Claire WardWatfordLab (minister)tellno
Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive